College Advice

College Advice: Time Management

IMG_3050.jpg

Welcome to A Quirky Twist’s college advice for freshman! This post while geared mainly towards freshman can also be used for sophomores too. So today’s post is on time management which is a necessary skill for not only college but also life. I made a post on time management last year, which you can find here. In today’s post I’m adding a few more tips that I’ve learned after two years of college. I have 4 tips for time management your freshman year, also please remember these are just suggestions and not rules you need to live by.

  1. MAKE PLANS

This is probably the best way to manage your time in college. No matter how much time or freedom you thought you had in high school you get significantly more in college. Many times I’ve walked out of my last class for the day and thought to myself, what do I do now? The best way to combat the feeling of uncertainty on what to do with your free time is to make plans. Having plans not only gives you something to look forward to, it also allows you to spend time with friends. Also having plans can help you decide when to do what; maybe you want your homework done before dinner at 7 or to exercise before a 1pm coffee date. Having a base set of plans to work with can really help your time management.

  1. DO SOMETHING REPETITIVELY

When you were in high school you probably had a lot of activities going on or at least something. Maybe you had a job, a bunch of club meetings, played a sport, or something else. When you get to college in the first month typically none of these things are still happening in your life. A good way to combat the excess time on your hands is to do something that happens on the same day at the same time every week. This will probably be something like going to a gym class, volunteering, getting a job, or even studying with a friend. Having something set on your schedule gives you the opportunity to plan around it, and also something to help manage your time.

  1. SET PLENTY OF ALARMS

This is especially important if you have something to do in the morning. For a lot of people college really throws off their sleep schedule. Before college I definitely considered myself a morning person, I only needed one alarm to get up and on weekends I naturally woke up before 10 am. Since I went to college I still occasionally wake up at 9 am but then I’ll go back to sleep for a few more hours. This past year former President Obama visited our campus and my friends and I planned to go to breakfast at 7 am and then to the line right after. One of my friends overslept by a few hours and wasn’t able to meet us in line. So to combat this problem of missing or being late to events, set plenty of alarms on your phone. Also, if you can and it doesn’t bother your roommate set an alarm on an actual clock they’re louder and more effective especially if you have to get up to turn it off.

  1. PLAN YOUR SCHEDULE

This tip may be harder for freshman to accomplish, but it’s still good to know about for your future semesters. The best way to manage time is to have your classes in a block together. Having classes back to back especially if they’re early gives you a lot more free time. For me when I had to wait for my last class to start I would just sit around doing menial things that weren’t super productive. However this past semester my MW classes ended at 12 and my F at 11, which was great. So whether you like morning or evening classes, I think having your classes close together will be great in helping with time management.

I hope this will help you when you start your first year in the fall. In case you missed last week’s post on how to go about choosing a major you can find it here. Also if you know anyone in the future class of 2021 who needs some advice on college share this post with them. Another college advice post will be up next Tuesday! If you liked this post leave a comment down below!

untitled

Leave a Reply

