Desserts

Cake Batter Cookies

Welcome to A Quirky Twist! Today I’m sharing another baking post this time about cake batter cookies. These cookies are probably my favorite specialty cookies, and by specialty I mean any cookie that’s not oatmeal raisin, sugar, or plain chocolate chips. Also it’s kind of funny that I like these cookies because I don’t like cake; however, I think the chocolate chips might be the reason why I like them. On the topic of chocolate chips the recipe calls for white and milk chocolate, I used both the first time I made these, but I decided not to use white ones this time. I think cake batter cookies can be a quick and easier alternative to a birthday cake. The recipe is down below and I’ll have another outfit post next week.

 

Ingredients

1 ¼ cup of all-purpose flour

1 ¼ cup yellow or white-boxed cake mix (I used yellow)

½ teaspoon baking soda

¾ cup (1.5 sticks) unsalted butter room temperature

½ cup granulated sugar

½ cup light brown sugar

1 egg at room temperature

1.5 teaspoons vanilla

1 cup chocolate chips (blend of white and semi-sweet chocolate chips)

½ cup sprinkles

DSCN1290.jpg

 

Directions

In a large bowl, sift together flour, cake mix, and baking soda. Set aside.

DSCN1306.jpg

In a separate bowl cream together the butter and sugars on medium speed. Mix in the egg and vanilla until creamy.

DSCN1310.jpg

DSCN1314.jpg

Add the flour mixture to the wet ingredients and mix until just combined. Do not overmix the dough.

DSCN1318.jpg

Fold in the chocolate chips and sprinkles. Cover and refrigerate dough for at least 1 hour or up to 4 days. This step is mandatory.

DSCN1322.jpg

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Scoop rounded tablespoons of the cold dough onto an ungreased baking sheet. Shape your cookie dough balls to be “taller” than they are wide.

DSCN1376.jpg

Bake for 10-12 minutes until edges are slightly browned, as you can see I put too many on one tray.

DSCN1387.jpgdscn1395

untitled

One thought on “Cake Batter Cookies

Leave a Reply

