Sophomore Musings

Sophomore Musings #1

Hi and welcome to A Quirky Twist! Today’s post is the first in a series I meant to start in August, but never got around to doing. I mentioned this series briefly in my last College Advice series post but I never felt like it was the right time to start it or that I had anything interesting to say until now. Basically this series will come out exclusively on Fridays, but other than that there will be no set time or schedule or consistency for this series. Instead it’ll just be a random surprise blog post at the end of the week, so with that intro out of the way I give you my new college series: Sophomore Musings.

One of the things I’ve learned after a year and a few months in college is that people let you down often. Not to say that everyone in college lets you down, but quite a few people do. I think why this realization sticks out so much to me is because I can’t remember a time when someone in high school or in hometown let me down. What I mean by the term “let me down” is that some of the people I’ve interacted with in college aren’t very good at keeping their promises or commitments. Maybe this bothers me so much because I try to never give verbal commitment to go somewhere, say yes, or invite someone to do something unless I mean to keep my word.

I do understand that it is college and everyone is busy, but I just think that if there is even a slim chance you’ll break a commitment especially at an inconvenient time for the other person(s) involved you should just say no. However, I do think it is good that I’ve learned not everyone is going to make an effort to keep their word like they did in high school, while I’m in college and still physically close to friends and family who keep their word. I also admit I don’t keep my word 100% of the time, but I’d like to think 9 times out of 10 I do.

I think however these incidents have given me the opportunity to spend more time by myself and living my life without worrying about what others are going to do. By spending more time alone I get the chance to re-examine my thoughts and outs and ideas while also letting me figure out the types of people I want to be around. This could definitely be seen as a blessing in disguise.

As you could probably tell this series will have more of a stream of consciousness feel to it. Not every one of my posts will be this “deep” but they will be focused on college life so I can begin to feel like the first part of my title’s byline is true. If you want to read more about my thoughts in college, you should definitely follow my blog because I don’t really have a set schedule for this series other than Fridays. Thank you so much for stopping by feel free to leave a comment below and come back Monday for a new fashion related post!

white_background_image

2 thoughts on “Sophomore Musings #1

Leave a Reply

