College Advice

College Advice: Studying

large

Hi and welcome to A Quirky Twist’s college advice for freshmen! Today’s topic is one I think is very important during your freshmen year, which is studying. Most people’s approach for studying that worked in high school are more than likely not going to work for college. A huge part of that are the freedom and less restrictive scheduling of college. So today I have 4 tips for places to study and ways to help you study more.

  1. IN YOUR ROOM

Most of my studying last year was done in my room and that worked out well for me. Studying in my room was easiest when I was alone and my roommate was out. I found that because I was in the comfort of my room I was more relaxed and able to study. However, studying in your room can come with a lot of distractions so I recommend letting yourself study for thirty minutes before taking a break and checking your phone etc. Another benefit to studying in your room other than comfort, especially during finals is you don’t have to spend twenty minutes finding an open space.

2. IN THE LIBRARY

When I studied in the library, I typically did so during the daytime. The way my school is set up the dorms were about a ten minute walk from main campus (which really isn’t that far), but once I got to my dorm after class I didn’t want to make the walk back to study. My tip for studying in the library is to go during your breaks between classes or right after your last class when you’re still in the school mood and close to that part of campus. Also I suggest finding a favorite floor or area of your library that you love going to, my personal favorite was the fifth floor. Make sure to bring headphones along to block out the sounds of study groups or people walking around.

3. WITH A FRIEND

I rarely studied with friends, because I liked to do it in my dorm or during an hour break between classes in the library. There are some good benefits to studying with a friend in my opinion. You don’t have to worry about if you’re missing out on something fun because your friends are right there with you. If you’re in the same class or they took it before you, they can help with your studying. It’s easier to make plans for after studying because your friend is already right there with you and you don’t need to coordinate meeting spots and times. You can also encourage each other to focus on work, when one of you starts drifting off.

4. MAKE A SCHEDULE

I think making a schedule is another good way to stay on top of your studying. Even if you only dedicate an hour a day to studying that’s still time spent studying. Your schedule doesn’t even need to be a strict one, it can be as simple as studying biology before dinner, or read 30 minutes of a drama play before bed. Setting minor goals like these can help you build and stick to your schedule in the long term. The earlier you make and start to stick to your schedule the more it will benefit you, and your grades will definitely reflect that.

Those are all of the tips I have for studying in college, I hope this helps ease some of the future class of 2020’s worries about college. If you know anyone who will be going to college in the fall, share this post with them. And if you want to hear more about my college advice check back next Tuesday. Thank you so much for stopping by feel free to leave a comment below!

white_background_image

PS In case you missed it you can find last week’s college advice post here!

Leave a Reply

