College Advice

College Advice: Getting Around Campus

MuIV2JN.jpg

Hi and welcome to A Quirky Twist’s college advice for freshmen! Today’s post is on a topic that isn’t typically at the forefront of most freshmen’s minds, and that is getting around campus. Typically there will be three major ways to get around your college campus and depending on the size of your school you’ll use some more than the other. Just like my previous posts have stated these are just suggestions and not rules you have to follow, so with that I’m going to talk about the top 3 ways to get around campus and which ones I used more frequently.

1.BIKES

Personally I didn’t have a bike so I can’t speak much on this method of transportation. Biking will get you around campus much faster than walking. However, I saw plenty of people walking their bikes around either because they wanted to be with a non biking friend or for reasons I couldn’t really figure out. One thing I will say about bikes is that many walkers dislike them. What bikers don’t get is that walkers don’t hear them until they’re flying past and the walker has almost gotten hit. My favorite type of bikers are the ones who call out “on your left” or “on your right”; so no one is in danger, if you’re going to be a biker please be this kind.

2. BUSES

Most campuses will have campus buses that take you to different parts of campus, and city buses that will take you off campus. I typically only used buses if I was going somewhere at night, or if I was coming back from getting snacks for my room. Buses are great to use if you have to go somewhere just off campus for either a group meeting or off campus dinner, but you don’t feel like leaving an extra thirty minutes early to walk there. I know Carolina has a safe ride bus system that operates from 7pm to 4am every night, and I assume other campuses will have something similar. Also if you plan on being a frequent bus user I would look into bus apps that give you a to the minute arrival time for the bus you want to take. Overall, buses are good for traveling late at night, with heavy items/food, or in excessive rain downpours.

3.WALKING

I walked to every single one of my classes, because I knew the exact minute at the latest I could leave and not be late to class. Learning the bus schedule for class would have messed up my routine and I love having a routine. I walked home from all of my classes too, even during the never-ending week of rain my first semester. Which reminds me if you plan on walking a lot you should invest in a pair of rain boots; I didn’t have a pair but trust me if you get some you will thank me later. When I mentioned riding the bus above, it was typically when I was coming back from places I had walked to. Sometimes it’s also faster to walk to wherever you’re going than waiting for the bus to come. Also as a walker or biker you can take shortcuts through campus that the buses can’t. Plus walking gives you time to leisurely take in the beauty of your campus.

Those are all of the tips I have for getting around campus in college, I hope this helps ease some of the future class of 2020’s worries about college. If you know anyone who will be going to college in the fall, share this post with them. And if you want to hear more about my college advice check back next Tuesday. Thank you so much for stopping by feel free to leave a comment below!

white_background_image

PS In case you missed it you can find last week’s college advice post here!

2 thoughts on “College Advice: Getting Around Campus

Leave a Reply

